Ken Ludden – what Né: Roi is about

Who are you? What do you have to say? What is the artistic statement you are making? Ken Ludden speaks about his three-act ballet Né: Roi. „When approaching choreography, you must first find something you want to express that is worthy of expression and has a potential to shine the light of its vision forward. Whether that light is provocative, points to a goal, creates emotional impetus, gives a sense of hope, or poses a question, it must rise to purpose in your current time, and also be relevant beyond it.“ Ken Ludden



World Premiere Selections Performed in Mackay, Queensland July, 26th 2018 At The MECC, Mackay during Mackay’s Festival of the Arts.
World Premiere of Grand Pas de Deux „Supreme“ from „Ne: Roi“ at Edinburgh Festival 2017 74th International Choreographers Showcase.

Kontext/ Projektförderung/ Initiator/ Auftraggeber
Né: Roi is a creation of Ken Ludden


Libretto and Choreography Ken Ludden
Composer David Pyke
Production Designer Loron Lavoie
Costume Designers Rita Ludden, Fiona Flohr, Loron Lavoie
Music Director Alexander Walker Orchestra Musica Viva, Moscow
Video/Film Director Pipo Tafel
Still Photography Jason Ashwood
Dramaturg Clare Larman
Administrators Lydia Philpott, Catherine Lech
Stage Manager Tara Tate
Rehearsal Directors Dallas Itzstein, Amanda Bollinger
Costumer for Principal Artists Freda Bromberg
Wardrobe Department Maria Lobb, Lee Houghton, Rachel Hayes, Nicole Seale, Nurit Tatarsky, Michelle Mitchell, Nurit Tatarsky, Elizabeth Kennedy-Roberts
Make-Up and Hair Maria Lobb
Computer Tech Danny Tatarsky, Phillip Benyon
Stage Tech Nick Philpott
Cast Judith: Emily Bromberg
Prince Uno: Rainer Krenstetter
Aristo: Chase Swatosh Lady
Nara: Ashley Knox
Silv, Narrator: Alec Gilbert
King Sa’al: Rainer Krenstetter
Queen Lucia: Emily Bromberg
Bell Ringer: Gabriel Sinclair
Beaugar: Anatoli Chiochiu
Young Aristo: Ashton Philp
Young Uno: Cooper Tate
Young Nara: Elodie Jewell
Young Judith: Eliana Tatarsky
Music Master: Laura Connolly
Archer: Kristin Seale
Art Master: Molly Kirkwood
Scientist: Alicia Vaseo
Talbot: Alec Gilbert
Nurturer: Emily Budden
Strictness: Sabela Lobb
Dreamer: Jacqleen Mitchell
Prude: Jordan Hayes
Flirt: Kiara Medhurst
Edwina: Clare Larman
Princess Rigana: Shelby Johnson
Teen Nara: Lily Taylor
Teen Judith: Ashlyn Borg
Group Soloists Ladies In Waiting Emelina March-Peach Dakoda Murry Bronte Vella Tyla Saron Sentries Kash Stanton Jeremy Adams Nick Philpott Wazifalasi Warriors Elodie Jewell Annie Stanton Shannon O’Neill Adele Amies Leon Namai Elizabeth Amies Corps De Ballet Dancers (alphabetical order) Zara Anderson Yve-Noelle Bollinger Ashlinn BorgI Jessie Borg Emily Budden Kiara Catterall Taryn Clarke Laura Connolly Sophie Dolphin Tahlia Doohlan Madalyn Finch Kate Forster Jorday Hayes Kavce Hoani-Vincent Dylan Itzstein Elodie Jewell Shelby Johnson Molly Kirkwood Cadence Leonard Sabela Lobb Emelina March-Peach Amber McCarthy Sienna McDonald Lila McGrath Kiara Medhurst Jacqleen Mitchell Seina Murkami Dakoda Murry Shannon O’Neill Rori Paganoni Amali Paganoni Ashton Philp Ethan Philp Lily Philpott Abbie Quinn Tyla Saron Kristin Seale Laruen Seale Liam Shields Charli Sichter Annie Stanton Avigail Tatarsky Eliana Tatarsky Cooper Tate Lily Taylor Madeleine Trueman Alicia Vaseo Bronte Vella Belle Watling Mackenzie Wotherspoon

Ken Ludden


New York, Melbourne, Mackay (Australia)